Minnesota Heritage Publishing  
                                                                                                                                                                              © 2018 Minnesota Heritage Publishing
Double click here to add text
Collected Stories of Maud Hart Lovelace and Delos Lovelace, Volume 1
Collected Stories of 
Maud Hart Lovelace and Delos Lovelace
Volume One

Edited by Julie A. Schrader

"Having watched other collaborators getting into each other's hair and on each other's nerves, we have  reached the conclusion that happy collaborations, like happy marriages, are made in heaven."
                                           ~Maud Hart Lovelace

​12 published short stories written by Maud and Delos Lovelace between the years of 1915 - 1928. Original illustrations and magazine covers included. 

ISBN: 978-0-9850937-1-6
Softcover - 208 pp.


Maud and Delos Lovelace Note Cards 
(click to view card front or or card back
6 blank cards and envelopes


Borghild’s Clothes
The Carcassonne Flyer
Carmelita Widow
The Daring of Daphne
Dollars & Doughnuts
Emma Middleton Cuts Cross Country
Fires of Genius
Her Story
The House that Dee Built
In a Tree
The Little White Lamb
Love's Daily Dozen
About the Authors

Maud Hart Lovelace was born in 1892 in Mankato, Minn. She always believed she was born to be a writer. From the time she could hold a pencil, she was writing diaries, poems, plays, and stories. When Maud was 10, her father had a booklet of her poetry printed, and by age 18, she had sold her first short story, for $10 to the Los Angeles Times.

In 1917 she married Delos W. Lovelace, a newspaper reporter and a popular writer of short stories. In 1926 her first novel, The Black Angels, was published. Maud wrote two historical novels in collaboration with her husband, Delos, "One Stayed at Welcome" and "Gentlemen from England". They also many wrote short stories individually and in collaboration that were published by popular magazines of the time. 

The Lovelace's had one daughter, Merian. With the publication of Betsy-Tacy in 1940, she began the successful series known as the Betsy-Tacy books, which were based on the lives of Maud (Betsy) and her best friend Bick (Tacy). 

Delos Lovelace continued writing after his retirement from the newspaper. He also had several books published on his own and in collaboration with Maud. He died on January 17, 1967 in Claremont, Calif. 

Maud died March 11, 1980, in Claremont, Calif., and as she requested, she was returned to her beloved Mankato and is buried in Glenwood Cemetery. Her legacy lives on in the books she created and in her legion of fans, many of whom are members of the Betsy-Tacy Society, a national organization based in Mankato, Minn.
Follow my blog: Betsy-Tacy's Deep Valley